... The chicken? Or the egg?
Today, I went to lunch off-base with some co-workers. We were going to place called Central Market, and I figured it would be a good opportunity for me to look for bread and other goodies that do not have dairy.
Peggy and I approached the soup and salad bar. I was really craving some chicken noodle soup, and knew it would be a safe, non-dairy option. I saw the sign posted behind the soup container that said, "Chicken Noodle Soup" and below it, "Contains Eggs."
I immediately whined to Peggy, "I can't even eat this! It has eggs!"
Her response was simple.
"Uh, Lou. Eggs come from chickens. Not cows."
My response was also simple.
"I know eggs come from chickens........ Oh,yeah."
Why in the world I was under the impression that eggs were considered dairy is literally beyond me. I'm pretty sure it gave Peggy a little chuckle, and rightfully so. A lady standing at the soup bar heard the whole conversation and was looking me like I was the most ignorant person she had ever seen.
The good news is that I found some bagels that appear to be dairy free, and some vegan cream cheese to go along with it.
We'll see 'bout that.